Latest news

Friday 29th March 2019

Press release: Current screening programme for baby hip problems has "failed"

Description
Orthopaedic surgeons in Southampton have said selective screening introduced in 1986 to identify hip problems in babies in England has "failed" to prevent late diagnoses.
Date
Friday 29 March 2019
Thursday 28th March 2019

Southampton researchers say weekly bottle of wine has same cancer risk as ten cigarettes

Description
Researchers in Southampton have found drinking a bottle of wine a week increases the risk of cancer by as much as smoking between five and 10 cigarettes.
Date
Thursday 28 March 2019
Wednesday 27th March 2019

Stars shine at Hospital Heroes awards

Description
The incredible work and the staff who make it happen at UHS were celebrated at the annual Hospital Heroes award ceremony.
Date
Wednesday 27 March 2019
Friday 22nd March 2019

Press release: Southampton surgeon helps create 'IKEA clinic' for global health disasters

Description
A Southampton surgeon has helped to develop a flat-pack health clinic – dubbed "IKEA for emergencies" – for use in global conflict and disaster zones.
Date
Friday 22 March 2019
Friday 15th March 2019

Press release: Healthcare scientists "hamstrung" by lack of awareness and investment

Description
A leading healthcare scientist has said the profession is being "hamstrung" due to a lack of awareness and investment.
Date
Friday 15 March 2019
Thursday 14th March 2019

Press release: Leading doctor warns use of blood test to diagnose heart attacks is 'flawed'

Description
A leading cardiac specialist has said some patients who suffer suspected heart attacks could be receiving inappropriate investigations and unnecessary treatment due to a 'flawed' blood test.
Date
Thursday 14 March 2019
Wednesday 13th March 2019

Press release: Family set to trek Kilimanjaro for hospital staff who saved child's sight

Description
The family of a child who developed a rare eye condition are set to trek Mount Kilimanjaro in aid of the clinicians who saved his sight.
Date
Wednesday 13 March 2019
Friday 8th March 2019

Press release: Eight-week breastfeeding supplement prevents weight loss in premature babies after discharge

Description
Doctors in Southampton have found an eight-week nutrient supplement for breastfeeding mums can help prevent weight loss and boost the growth of premature babies after they leave hospital.
Date
Friday 8 March 2019

Celebrating International Women's Day on Friday, 8 March

Description
International Women's Day is centred around promoting and celebrating the achievements of women and raising awareness around having gender balance across our communities. Over the last year, we've shared many news stories that highlight women and their invaluable contributions to healthcare. Here are just a few that hit the headlines.
Date
Friday 8 March 2019
Tuesday 5th March 2019

Council of Governors' meeting - Tuesday, 12 March

Description
Members of staff and the public are invited to the next Council of Governors' meeting which will be held on Tuesday, 12 March 2019.
Date
Tuesday 5 March 2019
Displaying 21 to 30 of 823
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next