Florence Nightingale scholarships

Research Scholarships

We are offering 3 research scholarship schemes:

1. Research Internships
2. Research Scholarships (Commissioned) 
3. Research Scholarships (Masters dissertation or PhD fees).

Research Internships

Will be awarded funding to support a research internship in nursing or midwifery. Research Interns will work in an established research team led by a Florence Nightingale Foundation Clinical Professor of Nursing/Midwifery on an agreed research project that will have a direct impact on healthcare. Interns will be helped to develop their research skills and pursue a clinical academic career.

Applications for the internships are welcome from clinical nurses and midwives wishing to enhance their research knowledge and skills and pursue a clinical academic career by undertaking doctoral or post-doctoral level research in one of following practice related areas:

  • The Management of Pain
  • The Management of Long Term Conditions
  • The Management of End of Life Care
  • Enhancing Patient Safety

Research Scholarships (Commissioned)

Clinical Research Capability & Capacity Building Scholarship (St Barnabas House) 

We have been commissioned by St Barnabas House to provide a research scholarship to a nurse, to support and develop research capability and capacity.

Funding is available for a for a band 6 or 7 nurse to be seconded to St Barnabas House for two days per week for nine months, to work with the St Barnabas team to develop research capability and capacity. Interest in palliative/end of life care would be desirable but not essential.

A travel budget is also included.

Please note, the amount of clinical release time will be negotiated following a successful interview, and is dependent on your payband (that is the more senior you are, the less funded time will be available for this project).

Research Scholarships (Masters dissertation & PhD fees)

Masters dissertation or PhD course fees will be paid however your research must align with one of the 4 areas below. These scholarships are sponsored by:

  • The Association of Respiratory Nurse Specialists (ARNS)
  • The Charlie Waller Memorial Trust
  • CRH Charitable Trust
  • The Menat Trust

For full criteria, eligibility and to apply online, find out more.

Applications close on 14 October 2018 at 5PM.