News and updates

Monday 17th December 2018

Researchers develop an app to predict the risk of asthma in children

Description
Researchers in Southampton and the US have created an app that can predict a child's risk of asthma through six simple yes or no questions – and without the need for blood tests.
Date
Monday 17 December 2018
Tuesday 27th November 2018

Southampton doctors in world-first trial of new nose drop to fight meningitis

Description
Doctors in Southampton are leading a world-first trial of a new nose drop containing a type of modified 'friendly' bacteria that could help prevent meningitis and other infections.
Date
Tuesday 27 November 2018
Friday 13th July 2018

Southampton's 'soft' laser therapy for cancer patients could be offered nationwide

Description
An NIHR funded 'soft' laser therapy pioneered in the UK by doctors in Southampton to help prevent side effects in patients receiving treatment for head and neck cancer could now be offered nationwide.
Date
Friday 13 July 2018
Monday 25th June 2018

Using mathematics to assess lung function

Description
Researchers at the University of Southampton have developed a new digital way of analysing X-ray images of lungs that could herald a breakthrough in diagnosing Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD) and other lung diseases.
Date
Monday 25 June 2018
Wednesday 16th May 2018

Southampton researchers look at why people choose not to take part in clinical trials

Description
Clinical trials couldn't take place without people volunteering to take part. All doctors depend on volunteers to better understand the safety and efficiency of new treatments – without them there could be almost no research.
Date
Wednesday 16 May 2018

Researchers looking to recruit young smokers to better understand lung disease

Description
Researchers in Southampton are studying the timeline of lung disease in a younger smoking population to better understand how and when it develops, with the hope to improve treatment and outcomes for future patients.
Date
Wednesday 16 May 2018
Friday 13th April 2018

Exploring the impact of public involvement

Description
In March we (the Wessex Public Involvement Network - #WessexPIN) organised an 'Exploring the Impact of Public Involvement' workshop. Caroline, the PPI Officer for Research, shares her thoughts on the day and their upcoming Tweetchat.
Date
Friday 13 April 2018
Monday 5th February 2018

Training our immune system to fight TB

Date
Monday 5 February 2018
Wednesday 24th January 2018

Developing a new app to reduce the risk of breast cancer

Description
Researchers in Southampton are working with women across the region to raise awareness of the link between alcohol consumption and breast cancer and develop a new app to help reduce the risk of developing the disease.
Date
Wednesday 24 January 2018
Wednesday 22nd November 2017

New genes found to increase risk of osteoporosis

Description
New genes potentially involved in the bone disease osteoporosis have been discovered by Southampton researchers, as part of an international study, providing potential targets for drug development.
Date
Wednesday 22 November 2017
Displaying 1 to 10 of 83
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next