News and updates

Wednesday 15th March 2017

Cancer patients' sleep improved by exercise

Description
Our critical care research team has shown that a six week exercise programme helps rectal cancer patients get a better night's sleep.
Date
Wednesday 15 March 2017
Monday 27th February 2017

Childhood tooth decay and eczema linked

Description
New research from our NIHR Biomedical Research Centre has shown that babies with eczema are at greater risk of developing tooth decay as a toddler, and are now looking for a shared cause.
Date
Monday 27 February 2017
Monday 20th February 2017

New study to predict and prevent asthma

Description
Southampton scientists delve deeper into the causes of asthma.
Date
Monday 20 February 2017
Friday 17th February 2017

Supporting families helps children thrive

Description
Boosting children's development by providing better support for families has been proposed by team of researchers, including Professor Mark Hanson from the NIHR Southampton Biomedical Research Centre.
Date
Friday 17 February 2017

Predicting allergy in toddlers

Date
Friday 17 February 2017
Tuesday 31st January 2017
Monday 9th January 2017

Cold virus may hijack body's own defences to worsen asthma symptoms

Description
Research has revealed an entirely new interaction between the cold virus and our immune system, which could help to explain how it causes worsening of asthma symptoms.
Date
Monday 9 January 2017

System flags up heart attacks from 999 calls

Description
New research has shown that a standard NHS system used to triage 999 calls is identifying 75% of heart attacks over the phone, saving vital minutes, and with improvements could detect even more.
Date
Monday 9 January 2017

Enhancing antibiotic treatment of lung infections

Description
Researchers have demonstrated that the drug PYRRO-C3D breaks down bacteria's protective biofilm and could improve antibiotic treatment of serious lung infections.
Date
Monday 9 January 2017
Displaying 41 to 50 of 85
Previous 3 4 5 6 7 Next