News and updates

Tuesday 25th June 2019

£2.8 million lab to take killer infection fight to the frontline

Description
Southampton's university-hospital partnership has won £2.8 million funding for cutting-edge research laboratories to tackle antibiotic resistant infections at the point of care.
Date
Tuesday 25 June 2019
Wednesday 19th June 2019

Researchers trial gene therapy for rare bleeding disorder

Description
Southampton researchers are trialling a pioneering gene therapy that could lead to a cure for patients with a rare bleeding disorder.
Date
Wednesday 19 June 2019
Friday 14th June 2019

Neurology patients' views shaping better care

Description
A Southampton-led study is gathering the views of those with neurological conditions across Wessex to better identify and meet different care needs, and inform research into better care services.
Date
Friday 14 June 2019

Professor Mike Grocott chosen as vice-president for Royal College of Anaesthetists

Description
A leader in anaesthetics and critical care research, Southampton's Professor Grocott has been elected as a new vice-president by the council of the Royal College of Anaesthetists.
Date
Friday 14 June 2019
Monday 3rd June 2019

UK woman pain-free after 40 years following world-first nerve stimulation implant procedure

Description
A woman in the UK is now pain-free for the first time in almost 40 years following a world-first nerve stimulation procedure.
Date
Monday 3 June 2019
Wednesday 29th May 2019

Doctors in Southampton trial cholesterol-lowering drug as a new treatment for secondary progressive multiple sclerosis

Description
Neurology specialists in Southampton are taking part in a pioneering study involving the use of a statin, that is normally used to lower cholesterol, to see if it can treat progressive multiple sclerosis.
Date
Wednesday 29 May 2019
Friday 24th May 2019

Doctors seek better evidence for safe oxygen limits

Description
Oxygen is vital to life, but too much is toxic. This is especially true for patients under general anaesthetic, yet there remains a lack of reliable evidence on how much is too much. Now Southampton researchers Dr Alex Oldman and Dr Andrew Cumpstey are working to give anaesthetists the answers they need.
Date
Friday 24 May 2019
Monday 20th May 2019
Tuesday 23rd April 2019
Monday 15th April 2019

Breastmilk supplements help protect preterm baby's weight loss

Description
Doctors in Southampton have found an eight-week nutrient supplement for breastfeeding mums can help prevent weight loss and boost the growth of premature babies after they leave hospital.
Date
Monday 15 April 2019
Displaying 1 to 10 of 167
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next