News and updates

Tuesday 19th June 2018

Meet our patients - Helen's story

Description
Southampton neurosurgeons are currently among the first in the world to participate in a post market clinical study to treat chronic lower back pain.
Date
Tuesday 19 June 2018
Friday 15th June 2018

Improving major trauma triage

Description
Clinicians in Southampton are evaluating a tool used by ambulance crews to decide on the most appropriate hospital destination for patients involved in traumatic incidents.
Date
Friday 15 June 2018
Wednesday 13th June 2018

'Dust mite' tablet developed to treat allergic asthma in children

Description
Doctors in Southampton are trialling a new tablet that could reduce the effects of allergic asthma in children with a house dust mite allergy.
Date
Wednesday 13 June 2018
Wednesday 16th May 2018

Southampton researchers look at why people choose not to take part in clinical trials

Description
Clinical trials couldn't take place without people volunteering to take part. All doctors depend on volunteers to better understand the safety and efficiency of new treatments – without them there could be almost no research.
Date
Wednesday 16 May 2018

Researchers looking to recruit young smokers to better understand lung disease

Description
Researchers in Southampton are studying the timeline of lung disease in a younger smoking population to better understand how and when it develops, with the hope to improve treatment and outcomes for future patients.
Date
Wednesday 16 May 2018
Thursday 10th May 2018

Researchers test pioneering device to relieve chronic lower back pain

Description
Neurosurgeons in Southampton are among the first in the world to participate in a post market clinical study of a surgically-implanted electronic device for the treatment of chronic lower back pain.
Date
Thursday 10 May 2018
Tuesday 1st May 2018

Southampton researchers trial new technology to improve treatment for spinal condition

Description
Researchers in Southampton are leading a pioneering study to test two devices that could transform treatment for patients with scoliosis.
Date
Tuesday 1 May 2018
Thursday 26th April 2018

Doctors trial device that monitors glucose levels in children with diabetes

Description
Southampton doctors are trialling the safety and accuracy of a device that can be worn for up to three weeks that tests and records children's glucose levels minute by minute.
Date
Thursday 26 April 2018
Monday 23rd April 2018
Thursday 19th April 2018

Experts in Southampton use innovative 'checkerboard light' to measure breathing patterns in asthma patients

Description
Researchers in Southampton are using new non-invasive technology to measure breathing patterns in people with asthma.
Date
Thursday 19 April 2018
Displaying 1 to 10 of 127
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next