News and updates

Monday 17th December 2018

Researchers develop an app to predict the risk of asthma in children

Description
Researchers in Southampton and the US have created an app that can predict a child's risk of asthma through six simple yes or no questions – and without the need for blood tests.
Date
Monday 17 December 2018
Tuesday 4th December 2018

Doctors study frozen blood clotting product to improve major trauma haemorrhage survival rates

Description
Trauma specialists based at Southampton General Hospital's major trauma centre are participating in a multi-centre international study of a frozen blood product to try and improve survival rates for patients with major trauma haemorrhage.
Date
Tuesday 4 December 2018
Tuesday 27th November 2018

Southampton doctors in world-first trial of new nose drop to fight meningitis

Description
Doctors in Southampton are leading a world-first trial of a new nose drop containing a type of modified 'friendly' bacteria that could help prevent meningitis and other infections.
Date
Tuesday 27 November 2018
Monday 12th November 2018

Streamlined heart attack test to help reduce time in hospital for chest pain patients

Description
Emergency doctors in Southampton are investigating whether patients who arrive at hospital with chest pain can be safely sent home earlier by streamlining tests currently used to diagnose, or rule out, heart attack.
Date
Monday 12 November 2018
Tuesday 6th November 2018

Psychology experts in Southampton find link between asthma and ADHD in children

Description
Researchers in Southampton, America and Sweden have collaboratively found a link between two conditions that commonly affect children – attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) and asthma.
Date
Tuesday 6 November 2018
Wednesday 31st October 2018

Students invited to 'be on the TEAM' with meningitis vaccine study

Description
Infectious disease specialists in Southampton are working with young people across Hampshire to potentially shape the future of routine teenage meningitis vaccinations in the UK.
Date
Wednesday 31 October 2018
Wednesday 24th October 2018
Thursday 11th October 2018

World-first trial for new children's cancer treatment

Description
Children with an aggressive form of cancer are being given new hope in a world-first, international clinical trial that is testing a new three-part treatment.
Date
Thursday 11 October 2018
Thursday 4th October 2018

Pioneering study to investigate the cause of mental health in young adults

Description
Psychology experts in Southampton are participating in a novel study to better understand possible connections between mental health problems in young adults.
Date
Thursday 4 October 2018
Tuesday 2nd October 2018

Doctors study effect of children's nasal flu vaccine on family members

Description
Doctors in Southampton are participating in a novel study into how the nasal flu vaccine affects the way bacteria is spread between family members in the same household.
Date
Tuesday 2 October 2018
Displaying 1 to 10 of 146
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next