News and updates

Wednesday 20th February 2019
Wednesday 30th January 2019

Southampton helps prevent malnutrition in critically ill across Europe

Description
Southampton researcher Philip Calder, as part of a panel of experts, has produced new European guidelines for medical teams on how to prevent malnutrition in intensive care patients.
Date
Wednesday 30 January 2019
Monday 21st January 2019

'Dust mite' tablet developed to treat allergic asthma in children

Description
Doctors in Southampton are trialling a new tablet that could reduce the effects of allergic asthma in children with a house dust mite allergy.
Date
Monday 21 January 2019
Monday 7th January 2019

Researchers study heart muscle damage test to better predict intensive care patient outcomes

Description
Cardiac experts in Southampton are investigating whether a blood test that is used to diagnose heart muscle damage can help doctors predict the long-term health outcomes of intensive care patients and ensure they get the most appropriate treatment.
Date
Monday 7 January 2019
Monday 17th December 2018

Researchers develop an app to predict the risk of asthma in children

Description
Researchers in Southampton and the US have created an app that can predict a child's risk of asthma through six simple yes or no questions – and without the need for blood tests.
Date
Monday 17 December 2018
Tuesday 4th December 2018

Doctors study frozen blood clotting product to improve major trauma haemorrhage survival rates

Description
Trauma specialists based at Southampton General Hospital's major trauma centre are participating in a multi-centre international study of a frozen blood product to try and improve survival rates for patients with major trauma haemorrhage.
Date
Tuesday 4 December 2018
Tuesday 27th November 2018

Southampton doctors in world-first trial of new nose drop to fight meningitis

Description
Doctors in Southampton are leading a world-first trial of a new nose drop containing a type of modified 'friendly' bacteria that could help prevent meningitis and other infections.
Date
Tuesday 27 November 2018
Monday 12th November 2018

Streamlined heart attack test to help reduce time in hospital for chest pain patients

Description
Emergency doctors in Southampton are investigating whether patients who arrive at hospital with chest pain can be safely sent home earlier by streamlining tests currently used to diagnose, or rule out, heart attack.
Date
Monday 12 November 2018
Tuesday 6th November 2018

Psychology experts in Southampton find link between asthma and ADHD in children

Description
Researchers in Southampton, America and Sweden have collaboratively found a link between two conditions that commonly affect children – attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) and asthma.
Date
Tuesday 6 November 2018
Wednesday 31st October 2018

Students invited to 'be on the TEAM' with meningitis vaccine study

Description
Infectious disease specialists in Southampton are working with young people across Hampshire to potentially shape the future of routine teenage meningitis vaccinations in the UK.
Date
Wednesday 31 October 2018
Displaying 1 to 10 of 150
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next