Private care at University Hospital Southampton

University Hospital Southampton NHS Foundation Trust provides services to 1.9 million people living in Southampton and south Hampshire, plus specialist services such as neurosciences, cardiac services and children's intensive care to more than 3.7 million people in central southern England and the Channel Islands.

The Trust is also a major centre for teaching and research in association with the University of Southampton and partners including the Medical Research Council and Wellcome Trust.

At our Trust we offer private treatment to patients who are either self-funding or holders of medical insurance. We treat a wide range of adult and paediatric conditions, and specialise in the treatment of patients with complex conditions.

We can offer you a personalised service, including:

  • your choice of consultant
  • your choice of appointment time
  • a private room, where possible
  • the reassurance that you will be supported in your care by an extensive team and supporting clinical specialists.

We are able to keep our treatment prices lower than private hospitals as we do not have a stand alone private care unit. Instead, our dedicated private patient coordinators are on hand to help during your stay, and can offer general advice and reassurance or assistance on funding your treatment and stay.

Key specialties and services

Our key specialties are:

We have an onsite pathology laboratory that provides diagnostic services to all the specialties.

Our consultants

Accessing a consultant is really straightforward. If your GP has referred you to one of our specialists for treatment, all you need to do is get in touch with us via our general enquiries email address.

If you already know your specialty contact private patient coordinator, we'll arrange for your first appointment at a time that suits you with your preferred consultant.

You can also book a consultation appointment if you haven’t been referred by a GP - please email our team so they can arrange this for you.

If you're currently an NHS patient and already seeing a consultant at UHS, you can ask about your options to be treated privately.

Contacts

If you'd like to make a general enquiry, please contact our private patients team on privatepatients@uhs.nhs.uk

Private patient coordinators by specialty

Surgery, theatres and critical care

Robert Ross: robert.ross@uhs.nhs.uk
Tel: 023 8120 3431

Cancer care

Ann Clay: ann.clay@uhs.nhs.uk
Tel: 023 8120 5437

Ophthalmology

Linda Peart: linda.peart@uhs.nhs.uk
Tel: 023 8120 6853

Paediatrics and women and newborn

Tina Walsh: tina.walsh@uhs.nhs.uk
Tel: 023 8120 5069

Cardiology, orthopaedics and neurology

Tel: 023 8120 3211

Radiology and nuclear medicine

Sarah Hall: sarah.hall@uhs.nhs.uk
Tel: 023 8120 4434

Pathology

Leanne Beck: leanne.beck@uhs.nhs.uk
Tel: 023 8120 6435

Other contacts

  • Debbie Roberts, private patients chief cashier: 023 8120 5722
  • Ian Godfray, private patients deputy chief cashier: 023 8120 6058