Browse site A to Z

Hospital Heroes 2015 winners

Hospital Heroes 2015

The 2015 Hospital Heroes Awards took place on Monday, 14 March 2016 at the Novotel in Southampton.The awards were presented by former Saints player Francis Benali.

The winners

There were 15 awards up for grabs on the night and this year you chose our employee and team of the year by text voting for your favourite. Each text vote you sent helped to raise money for Southampton Hospital Charity.

Chief executive’s employee of the year

  • Winner: Alexandra Shacklady, therapy technician
  • Runner up: Alex Mirnezami, consultant surgeon

Team of the year

  • Winner: Ward D2, haematology
  • Runner up: Mortuary, portering and respiratory high dependency unit

Chairman’s award for leadership

  • Winner: Peter Cowburn, consultant cardiologist
  • Runner up: Karen Hill, acuity practice development matron

Education and training

  • Winner: UHS adult diabetes team
  • Runner up: Jeanette Doherty, senior clinical educator

Equality and diversity

  • Winner: Beatriz Duarte Blanco, ward hostess
  • Runner up: Therapies department

Healthwatch patient experience

  • Winner: Lucie Planner and Jan Aherne, G3 advanced nursing team
  • Runner up: Linda Johnson, senior sister

Patient safety

  • Winner: Patient safety team
  • Runner up: Emergency department multidisciplinary team

Southampton Hospital Charity star award

  • Winner: Sarah Hartfree, paediatric rheumatology nurse specialist
  • Runner up: Matthew Jenner, consultant haematologist

Gift of time

  • Winner: Jean Pearce
  • Runner up: John and Sylvia Petty, Babs Jones, Muriel Richardson and Angie Rowbotham

Unsung hero

  • Winner: Selina Seabourne and Andrea Lodge, lead complimentary therapists
  • Runner up: Tom Auger, pharmacy purchasing officer

Clinical impact through research

  • Winner: Clinical research facility paediatric research nurse team
  • Runner up: Wessex genomics medicine centre team


  • Winner: Outpatient transformation team
  • Runner up: Hospital palliative care team and Rob Chambers

Research individual or team of the year

  • Winner: Clinical research network Wessex division 5 (primary care) 
  • Runner up: NIHR Wellcome Trust clinical research facility research nurse team   

Daily Echo readers' choice

  • Winner: Sunitha Narayan, neuromuscular disease co-ordinator
  • Joint runners up: Fiona Cooke, clinical nurse specialist and Paul Thirlwell, clinical nurse specialist 

Outstanding achievement award

  • Witness Dzobo