Hospital Heroes - banner (white text)

Hospital Heroes



The highlight in the UHS calendar is our Hospital Heroes event where we get the chance to celebrate the staff who meake great things happen across the Trust.

This year the event took place on Thursday, 5 March, 2020 at Southampton Football Club's St Mary's Stadium.

Stories of colleagues going the extra mile for their patients, developing new initiatives to make their care better or supporting their teams in achieving great outcomes together, were celebrated at the awards ceremony.

Guests and nominees enjoyed a drinks reception before being welcomed by chief executive Paula Head, chairman Peter Hollins and director of nursing Gail Byrne, who were also the hosts for the evening which was supported by BPP University and the Southern Daily Echo.

Here are a full list of award winners:

Hospital Heroes winners and runners-up  
  Winner Runner-up
Always improving: better every day award Pre-habilitation project pilot team Action on frailty multidisciplinary team
Breaking the barriers award Hepatology nurse specialists Vivienne Hudson, ward manager, E7
Chairman's award for leadership award Rebecca Allen, operations manager, microbiology Clare Tull, lead for urology day unit
Clinical impact through research award Atypical Parkinsonian syndrome service Girish Vajramani, neuro consultant
Education and training award Colposcopy & Hysteroscopy team Robert Lown, consultant, haematology
Health and wellbeing Award Matt Kerton, Hampshire & Isle of Wight Air Ambulance Haematology slimming club
Healthwatch patient experience award Arvind Nagra, consultant paediatric nephrology Katy Hirstwood, midwife
Patient safety award Intestinal failure team Becky Bonfield, acute kidney injury ANP lead
Research individual or team of the year award Gary Connett & Julian Legg, paediatric consultants and Mary Carroll, respiratory consultant Periscope study team
Southampton Hospital Charity award Peru trekkers Inez Walker, health care assistant, F4M, elderly care
Gift of time award Ophthalmology volunteers Maria Egan, Macmillan Centre
Unsung hero award Technical solutions team Paul Miller, blood track support assistant, pathology
Employee of the year Dan Ridout, senior EPR product specialist Leah Gawthorpe, trainee pharmacy technician
Team of the year PICU SORT team AMU nursing and security team
Southern Daily Echo  'Readers' Choice' award Alok Sharma, consultant neonatologist Amy Tooley, staff nurse, cancer care
Outstanding achievement award Teams involved in providing a dying wish to a 15 year old palliative patient - helicopter and facial