6,000 votes cast in hospital's first Members' Council election

The first Members' Council has been elected at Southampton University Hospitals NHS Trust.

A total of 181 members nominated themselves for the 17 available elected seats and nearly 6,000 votes were cast over the 21-day election period from 5 March to 25 March.

The four staff members and 13 public representatives will be joined on the council by six external stakeholders and will work closely with the Board of Directors to make sure services are meeting the needs of the local community.

Consultant urologist Brian Birch was elected by colleagues in the medical and dental category, while Emergency Department consultant nurse Rob Crouch will represent nursing and midwifery.

Caroline Wade (other clinical staff) and Matthew Hine (all other staff) make up the internal quartet.

Out of the 13 public representatives, five have been elected in Southampton City - Rosemary Bynam, Colin Pritchard, Val Thorpe, Pamela Aihie and Sue Daniel - and four in Eastleigh, New Forest and Test Valley - Pamela Akerman, Rihan Hinton, Eileen Gibbs and Nicola Groom.

Three more were voted in across the rest of England and Wales - Carol Ann Aspin, Nicolas Jonas and Lyn Salisbury. Stephanie Barnes will represent the Isle of Wight.

The election is part of the final stage of SUHT's application to become an NHS Foundation Trust, which will bring greater freedom to innovate and improve services.

Trust chairman John Trewby said: "The fact the first Members' Council election was so hard fought demonstrates just how committed staff and members of the public are to ensuring our Trust continues to thrive and develop even further."

If you would like to become a member of the trust and be involved in the future of the hospital, please sign up at www.suht.nhs.uk/members or contact the membership office on 023 8120 5270.

Issued: 30 March 2009

Posted on Monday 30 March 2009