Two new appointments to hospital trust's board of directors

Southampton University Hospitals NHS Trust has announced two additions to its board of directors.

Simon Porter and Lynne Lockyer were appointed designate non-executive directors on 1 January 2011.

Mr Porter, a former partner at Ernst and Young, takes over as chair of the audit and assurance committee from Paul Bradshaw, who steps down as a non-executive director on 31 May 2011.

Following his departure, Mr Porter will move into a full non-executive director role and serve on the Trust Board for four years from 1 June 2011 until 31 May 2015, while Ms Lockyer, a former chair of Eastleigh and Test Valley South Primary Care Trust, will remain a designate until foundation trust authorisation.

Ms Lockyer has also held the position of vice-chair of South West Hampshire Health Authority and was a course director at the University of Portsmouth until this month.

Peter Hollins, chief executive of the British Heart Foundation and designate non-executive director at SUHT since March 2009, has moved into a non-executive director post following the departure of Keith Bamber after eight years’ on the Trust Board and began his four-year term on 15 October 2010.

All non-executive appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, in accordance with the original Nolan recommendations, there is a requirement for appointees' political activity (if any declared) to be made public.

Mr Porter and Ms Lockyer hold no other ministerial appointments and are not involved in any political activity.

Both appointments have been made in accordance with the commissioner for public appointments’ code of practice and both will receive a non-executive director remuneration of £6,096 per year.

Posted on Thursday 20 January 2011