Latest news

Friday 8th November 2019

Updated: Important information for patients and visitors

Description
We currently have a number of wards and bays closed due to norovirus outbreaks. We are also experiencing high volumes of emergency admissions - please consider other options and choose the right service.
Date
Friday 8 November 2019
Thursday 7th November 2019

Press release: Doctors use pioneering 'pocket' ultrasound to beam scans to iPhones in an instant

Description
Children's intensive care doctors in Southampton have become the first in the UK to use a pioneering 'pocket' ultrasound probe which beams scans instantly to an iPhone or iPad.
Date
Thursday 7 November 2019
Wednesday 6th November 2019

Free TV for National Service of Remembrance – Sunday, 10 November

Description
Patients will be able to access free TV on Sunday, 10 November (8am to 2pm), allowing them to watch the National Service of Remembrance.
Date
Wednesday 6 November 2019
Wednesday 23rd October 2019

Press release: Researchers find whooping cough bacteria "lurks silently" in healthy people

Description
Researchers in the UK and Europe have discovered the bacteria which causes whooping cough can "lurk silently" in the noses and throats of healthy people.
Date
Wednesday 23 October 2019
Tuesday 22nd October 2019

Building on award success at innovative lifelong health project based at UHS

Description
The pioneering LifeLab which is based at UHS has been recognised as a Centre of Excellence by the Royal Society for Public Health (RSPH) for its work in supporting young people to become ambassadors for healthy change in their own communities.
Date
Tuesday 22 October 2019
Monday 21st October 2019

Press release: Southampton clinicians use new gel injection to reduce side effects for prostate cancer patients

Description
Clinicians in Southampton are using a pioneering gel injection that can reduce the side effects of radiotherapy for prostate cancer patients.
Date
Monday 21 October 2019

Next meeting of the Trust Board - 31 October 2019

Description
The next Trust Board public meeting will be held on Thursday, 31 October.
Date
Monday 21 October 2019
Wednesday 16th October 2019

Press release: Southampton expert says home genetic testing kits "shouldn't be used for healthcare decisions"

Description
A leading doctor based at Southampton's university hospitals has warned against the use of home genetic testing kits and called for more regulation of, and engagement with, the industry.
Date
Wednesday 16 October 2019
Monday 14th October 2019

NHS staff from across Hampshire join forces to showcase future of healthcare

Description
NHS staff from across Hampshire will join forces this week to showcase plans for the future of healthcare in the south.
Date
Monday 14 October 2019
Wednesday 9th October 2019

Press release: Doctors say lack of data 'may put overweight children at risk' during surgery

Description
Researchers in Southampton have said the lack of data on overweight children presenting for surgery in the UK may be putting them at greater risk of complications.
Date
Wednesday 9 October 2019
Displaying 1 to 10 of 871
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next