HSH Winners

Hospital Heroes 2021

Every member of staff at UHS has been a hero over the past 18 months, as they have risen to the challenges of the pandemic.

Our annual awards ceremony has therefore been renamed this year to reflect the superheroes that deserve special recognition for their work.

Usually, we would gather for a ceremony in person but due to the restrictions that are still in place across our hospitals to limit the risk of infection spread, we have organised an online event to celebrate our award winners this year.

Stories of colleagues going the extra mile for their patients in the most difficult of circumstances, developing new initiatives to make their care better or supporting their teams in achieving great outcomes together, have been submitted in dozens of nominations we received.

This year our awards also reflected our trust vales of Patients first, Working Together and Always Improving - guiding principles that have steered our course over the past 18 months.

A panel of judges had a particularly difficult time picking winners from the categories, such was the incredibly high standard of entries reflecting the monumental effort made by staff.

Please celebrate the award winners with us as we have compiled a film of those who won the prizes. The film features our executive team paying tribute to them and all our incredible staff.


A full list of winners is below. Please also visit our social media channels for more pictures and reaction to our Hospital Super Hero awards.


Hospital Super Heroes winners and runners-up  
  Winner Runner-up
Patients auperhero Hayley Rayner, ward manager D7T Jade Donnelly and Sohail Rahmamy
Patinet team Superheroes Vulnerable adult support Critical care therapy and adult home ventilation physio
Patinet care innovation Molly Watts, staff nurse paediatric ICU  Elizabeth Shepherd and Eye casualty triage team
Working together most collaborative team  Critical care Infection prevention and CD RHDU team
Working together best team player Diana Mondo, research and development Amelia Pietropaolo and Joan Newman
Working together most inspirational leader Julie Brooks, head of infection prevention, and Samantha Brownsea, targeted lung health checks Sanja Gupta and Denny Levett
Always improving, clinical innovation of the year Point of care testing team Will Rivenburg, Zoe Sherlock, Danielle Worsely
Always improving, operational innovation AMU nurses Sara Shelton, Rachel Bailey, Dave Waghorn 
Always improving, most inpriring innovator Emma Jane Squires, patient experience improvement manager Caroline Wyatt, Clare Phillips
Charity star Laura Sinclair, midwife Julian Smith, Tim Bryant, Charlie Bryant and Gail Doran
Outstanding volunteer  Kieran Fifield Claire Gray, Tony Smyth
CEO award Matt Keatley Kathryn Machin, Medicine for Older People wards
Chair's outstanding team achievement award Pathology Infection prevention
Chair's outstanding team individual award Saul Faust, director of NIHR clinical research facility Aiman Alzetani
Southern Daily Echo  'Readers' Choice' award Evan Davies, consultant spinal surgeon Amy Tooley, staff nurse, cancer care