Hospital Heroes - banner (white text)

Meet last year's winners

It was an honour to recognise staff who go the extra mile for patients at the Hospital Heroes event in March 2019.

Congratulations to all who were nominated in each category.
Find out more about the winners below.

Always improving: better every day award

Paula Johnston, diabetes specialist nurse

"Paula's passion and enthusiasm for maintaining patients' ability to self-manage their diabetes has been clear to see. We're very lucky to have Paula on our team!"

Chairman’s award for leadership

Caley Hockaday, team leader, Macmillan acute oncology service

"... an indispensable member of the cancer care team. Caley is absolutely passionate about nurse-led services and has a reputation as someone who can bring significant improvement."

Clinical impact through research award

CRF paediatric allergy team

"Their research will have a huge impact on the future of allergy. The impact on the lives of the patients has been immense."

One five year old patient says' "Thank you for making my allergy better!"

Education and training award

Jacky Mills, practice educator

"Jacky has positively influenced the trainee nurse associate programme within our children's hospital, helping an extremely valuable group of employees realise their true career prospects."

Health and wellbeing award

Angie Keens, clinical nurse specialist

"Angie has set up an outpatient programme for patients following a TIA or stroke. It covers exercise, well being and lifestyle habits. Feedback has been very positive."

Healthwatch patient experience award

Piam Brown paediatric oncology team

"It is a very special person who can work on a children's cancer unit but it requires a very special team to achieve excellence in everything it does. An exemplary service."

Inclusive champion award

Mohammed Sirajul Islam, assistant chaplain

"Siraj has gone above and beyond in his commitment. He's raised awareness of organ donation and trained in medical ethical issues. Siraj is an excellent example of inclusive leadership."

Patient safety award

The sepsis team

"Emma and her team do not promote their achievements but they do really live all of the Trust values - always improving, work as part of a wider team and always put patients first."

Research individual of the year award

Jisha Jacob, senior research sister 

"Jisha inspires us. She has an incredibly compassionate nature and forms great relationships with her patients and their families, and between research and clinical teams.""

Southampton Hospital Charity star award

The Jersey to Southampton row team

"...brave, if not slightly crazy. 12 staff. 26+ hours of rowing. £37,000 for the ED appeal. What real life heroes."

Gift of time award

Rosemary Weston, volunteer

"Rosemary has enormous amounts of energy and puts us all to shame with the speed and proactiveness she shows. Patients absolutely adore her and are always full of compliments."

Unsung hero award

Karen Bowers, volunteer recruitment and training coordinator

"Thoughtful and caring, Karen is always prepared to go the extra mile to help or resolve a problem. She truly lives the Trust values and makes a difference to our volunteers."

Employee of the year award

Rachel Mcenery, ward sister

"She exudes everything that I feel a nurse should be. She always finds time to make each of her patients feel important. You can tell she loves her job!"

Team of the year

F5 team, head and neck ward

"The staff on F5 deserve a special mention. Through bad weather they represented the epitome of Trust values in action, accomplished in a spirit of friendliness and cooperation."

Outstanding achievement

Caroline Smith

This year we introduced a very special award for outstanding achievement. Caroline Smith, care group manager for emergency medicine, was nominated for her extraordinary care and compassion when attending an incident while on holiday in France. 

Southern Daily Echo Readers' Choice award

Dr Shelley Haynes, consultant obstetrician and Dr Neelam Gupta, neonatal consultant

The Readers' Choice award is presented to one team or individual nominated by the public. Find out why they were nominated here.